Spicy Aubergine Fries!

Hello you delightful things.

AUBERGIENE

After enticing y’all with my Tian Provençal last week, I’m back again with another glorious Rachel Khoo recipe, from her book, ‘My Little French Kitchen’. For this charming dish, you will need some gorgeous aubergines (obvo), garlic, tomato paste/purée, oodles of olive oil, pepper & salt. I also prepared a complimentary cous-cous dish, but that’s so easy peasy that you’ll only need some a spritz of lemon & oil – when you’re done doing your thang.

AUBERGIENE

Take your juicy eggplants and slice into 2cm slices (see below). Rachel Khoo recommends using 2 aubergines for this dish, but that’s absolutely nuttin (I’m convinced that her dinner guests are mice). I used 3 but could have quite easily used 4 or 5. You’ll want to leave most of the spongey core, but fear not, I’ve saved dem bits for yet another round of ratatouille from my kitchen. (YES, I do like a good ratatouille).

AUBERGIENE

After this, you’ll want to prepare your marinade. This is the part where the y’all get an excuse to dig out your pestle & mortar. Pound two cloves of garlic and a pinch of salt into a paste, and then add 2 tbsps of tomato purée with a lil’ pepper and 2 tbsps of oil. I also added a dash of tabasco sauce to my marinade for that extra kick. You’ll want to layer a couple of baking trays with baking parchment or greaseproof paper & lightly brush your eggplant fries with the freshly made marinade. It’s as easy as that!

AUBERGIENE

Bake in the oven @ 180 degrees for 30 minutes and you’re done. In the penultimate 5 minutes of baking, I also made a very sneaky cous-cous dish. Simply pour your cous-cous into a bowl with boiling water, leave for 5 minutes & lightly fluff with a fork and a little oil once all the water has absorbed. I also added some gorgeous sweet peppers to my mix. Et voilà!

AUBERGIENE

AUBERGIENE

How do you like them aubergines?!

~

instagram – @marshingtons

twitter – @goodfoodmarsh

tumblr – @goodfoodmarsh

28 thoughts on “Spicy Aubergine Fries!

Leave a Reply

