Vegan Nachos!

I was inspired to make these Vegan nachos from scratch after watching Rosianna Halse Rojas’ video, which you can watch here!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

As with all my culinary pursuits, I made this recipe up as I went along, and in my opinion, that’s half the fun of it. I love adding a drop of this or that, or in this case, a gargantuan dollop of homemade guacamole!

The first stage involved crafting a rather sassy salsa. For this I fried onion, great juicy tomatoes, green pepper, & some red jalapeños – letting them sizzle away in the pan until soft. After leaving the mix on the side to cool, I drizzled some fresh lemon juice over the top (was supposed to be lime, but #YOLO) & placed in the fridge for later.

1403797390.132633.IMG_2130  Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I then blended some Cannellini beans with water & seasoned to create a pulpy mixture to top the tortilla chips, to add some depth.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I then sliced up several corn tortillas & shallow fried them until crispy and golden brown. This was the first time I’ve ever made my own nachos, and I was overjoyed with how they turned out! Whilst the nachos were warming in the oven, I mashed a couple of glorious avocados and seasoned to create a makeshift guacamole. I also whizzed up some kidney beans with tabasco sauce for a wonderful dip. Again, I was just making this up as I went along. Et voilà!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

[Recipe (roughly serves 3-4!) = 8 corn tortillas, 1 tin kidney beans, 1 tin Cannellini beans, 2 giant avocados, 1 green pepper, red jalapeños, 1 large onion, 5 large organic tomatoes, 1 lemon]

Thank you for reading & please follow me on…

instagram @marshingtons

twitter @goodfoodmarsh

tumblr @goodfoodmarsh

17 thoughts on “Vegan Nachos!

Leave a comment