(40) days of summer

Goodness gracious me.

FLOWERS

It’s been exactly two weeks since I last blogged, which is very, very rude of me. Please accept my sincerest apologies. You have my full permission to sit me firmly on the naughty step & send me to bed without supper. Well, maybe a little something, like falafel or vegan sushi or jelly tots…

I promise there’s a viable excuse to this practical abandonment. I’ve been whizzing all over England; eating yasai katsu curries in one city, before jetting off to the next to eat the most scrumptious vegan delights in Hyde Park (blog post to follow soon mateys). It’s all been rather glorious and lovely and unashamedly decadent.

But all that excitement and joy got me thinking about what I’ve already blissfully experienced, and more importantly, what I want to have achieved, claimed and fought for, as this summer comes to a close. Thus [I feel like a demigod when I use thus, so plz excuse it for now], I’ve set myself the deadline of the autumnal equinox (September 23rd 2014) to scrape together the last remnants of my motivation and ambition. The autumnal equinox is oh so conveniently a mere 40 days away – a number of ubiquitous biblical proportions.

~ Summer goals ~

RUNNING :- I’d love to emerge 20km (aka a half marathon) better off at the end of this summer. Not only achieving a summer goal, but also completing a gargantuan New Year’s Resolution.

READING :- The Dubliners by James Joyce (I live in Dublin, so it’d be rude not to) // The Diary of Anne Frank // How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran // 23 Things They Don’t Tell You About Capitalism by Ha-Joon Chang.

ROAMING :- LONDON <3. London used to be a regular jaunt for me, but since moving to Ireland, trips to that utterly wonderful city have become an opulent treat. I need at least one more day there this summer. I’m thinking Portobello market, vegan delights in Notting Hill, and basking in Russell Square gardens before a trip to the British Museum. Who’s with me?

THEATRE :- The National Theatre are putting on Euripides’ Medea and I WILL SEE IT, I WILL, I MUST.

FOODIE BITS N BOBS :- I want to blog here at least twice a week, with posts including… making my own bread! // making my own ketchup+jam // another attempt at Ratatouille // a ‘RawTil4’ weekend // a pretty photo haul from my summer adventures for y’all to look at.

MISCELLANEOUS CLICHÉD NONSENSE :- Last but not least, I want to see the sun rise at some point this summer. Whether that be with a corona in hand at the end of a night, or on an excruciatingly early morning jog. IMMA DO IT. Oh. And I’d like to be able to play Beethoven’s ‘Moonlight Sonata’ on piano. Who knows, if I get there, maybe I’ll upload a lil clip of me playin’ it on my instagram.

SYLVIA

If Moses can wander for 40 days in the desert, I’m sure I can manage a wee 40 days from the comfort of my nest. Who’s in the mood for joining me?

As Sylvia Plath said, “I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart: I am, I am, I am.”

~

instagram – @marshingtons

twitter – @goodfoodmarsh

tumblr – @goodfoodmarsh

Leave a Reply

