STUFFED PORTOBELLO MUSHROOMS!

Who doesn’t absolutely adore mushrooms, right? I thought I’d have a go at making some scrumptious stuffed mushrooms!

MUSHROOMS

Stuffed mushrooms are a ridiculously simple and quick supper to whip up. For my first batch of chickpea & spinach stuffed mushrooms, I used the ‘Friend That Cooks’ recipe which you can find here!

Portobello

Begin by removing the stalks and  drizzling your voluptuous portobellos in a little oil & season to your taste. I baked these in the oven for about 20 minutes at 200 degrees celsius, turning the temperature down towards the end.

Spring Onion

For the stuffing, I fried some glorious organic spring onions (look at the size of them!), 3 cloves of crushed garlic and oodles of fresh baby spinach. I also gently heated a tin (or 400g) of chickpeas in some vegetable stock before adding them to the mixture. This serves 2/3.

Cooking

And here they are! I baked the mushrooms in their delicious entirety for another 20 minutes before serving with green vegetables and a homemade mushroom sauce.

Mushrooms

I made the sauce with some beautiful chestnut mushrooms & this dairy free sauce mix. I’m not usually a fan of pre-made tings, but since going vegan I’ve missed making my own crème fraîche  and cheddar concoctions. In all honesty this sauce was a little bland, but it just about did the job!

 Vegan Cheese

For my second batch, I rustled up a portabello bake with zucchini, Linda McCartney ‘sausages’, chestnut mushrooms and stuffing. For this lil dish, again bake the Portobello mushroom for 20 minutes or so, whilst frying the zucchini, and chestnut mushrooms. Grill the ‘sausages’ and finally add everything to the dish and drizzle the ‘cheese’ sauce over the top. Bake for 20 minutes and you’re done!

  Mushrooms II

Lemme know if you have any wonderful ideas for stuffed mushrooms!

~

instagram – @marshingtons

twitter – @goodfoodmarsh

tumblr – @goodfoodmarsh

Leave a Reply

