Vegan & wheat free curry!

Why hello my glorious fellow foodies!

Now listen here, I know that you’re all dying to know how a self-proclaimed amateur gastronomer goes about cooking a fabulous vegan curry from SCRATCH. Well, contain those feeling of euphoria, I’m about to share mine with you.  I cam promise you that this rather sassy spice dish is cruelty free, gluten free and absolutely exploding with flavour and kick. Whoever said that cooking vegan had to be dull, was about as ill advised as Posh Spice’s solo career. 

Y’all are going to need to start by prepping your vegetables of choice. So, pour yourself a glass of wine, whack on Yeezus, and grab a rather sharp knife. For this particular curry, I opted for carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, petit pois & onion. I also like to use lovely green beans and sweet potato. I prepared this with my housemate in honour of our farewell supper together, as she flies back to England tomorrow. Violins at the ready, please and thank you.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

1. We used 2 onions to form the foundations of our spice mix. Gently fry your finely chopped onions in a shallow pan until they begin to sweat and soften. Then simply season to your taste. We don’t use exact measurements (I told you I was an amateur)!  I recommend mild madras curry powder, ground corriander & turmeric powder. Using a ground spice mix will also give your curry an added kick if you like it fierce! Experimenting with cinnamon, ginger, fennel, cloves & bay leaves are also great ways of adding spice and depth to your ordinary korma recipe.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

While the onions & spices are sizzling away, put your vegetables on to boil. I really enjoyed making this larger portion as it gave me an excuse to use my gorgeous Le Creuset pan – oh the simple joys!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

When your vegetables are close to being ready, add your coconut milk to the spiced onion mix. I did all of this in my giant wok, as you’ll need plenty of room for some good ol’ stirring. I prefer using really thick  & creamy coconut milk to add a wonderful texture to my vegetable korma. I recommend using Blue Dragon coconut cream, or any good canned coconut milk from a health food store or Asian supermarket. After we added our vegetables to the coconut milk base, we threw in a handful of chickpeas & generous sprinkling of red lentils. Et voilà!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The kitchen filled up with the most scrumptious smell whilst this was all cooking away. Finally, whack on some rice 20 minutes before you want to serve and you’re done. It really is that easy.

IMG_9746

Hope you enjoyed this recipe! Please share with family & friends. I’d love to know what y’all think.

Goodfoodmarsh xoxo

Follow me on twitter.com/goodfoodmarsh + goodfoodmarsh.tumblr.com

One thought on “Vegan & wheat free curry!

Leave a Reply

