World Water Day & All things Vegan.

Hello.

As of a few moments ago, I had no idea that today was World Water Day. In fact, I had no idea that such a thing as World Water Day existed at all. I woke up this morning happily ignorant, but now I know, and this day can’t be ignored.

You may be wondering, what on earth does World Water Day have to do with ‘All things Vegan’? The answer is, A LOT.

And before you think ‘Oh no, this is going to be a preachy post about converting us to Vegansim’, I can assure you it wont be. You can sit back and relax with your bacon butty, your cheese on toast and your chocolate milkshake. Converting to Vegetarianism let alone Veganism is a huge lifestyle choice, and I’m not here to make that for you. What I am here to do, is to tell you a little bit about something you may not have know about before reading this – and becoming wiser can never be a bad thing, right?

So, back to business. World Water Day is all about raising awareness of the 884 MILLION people who don’t have access to clean water. That’s more than the populations of America, Canada and the European Union Combined. It’s just staggering that in 2012 we can send man to space, but we can’t ensure man has clean drinking water. Now if you’re reading this, I guess you have connection to the internet, and I also assume that you have access to clean drinking water. It’s therefore hard for us to imagine a life without instantly accessible and safe water to quench our thirst. Since I started writing this, I’ve already had nearly a litre of fluid, and all I had to do was turn on my tap. My fridge is stacked to the brim with fresh fuit juices, smoothies and a cheeky can of diet coke or two. It’s incredibly easy to take all this for granted.

Now here’s the shocking bit. To produce a pound (lb) of wheat, 155 gallons of water are required. A pound (lb) of meat? 2,400 gallons required to satisfy society’s growing demands for all things meaty. By the end of the year, that’s a total of 235 TRILLION gallons used by the meat industry in production. The statistics alone are pretty shocking. But here’s what we can do to try and change that.

Meat eaters, this doesn’t mean you have to stop eating meat this instant and survive on lettuce alone for the next 10 years. But, there are many things you can do, to try and create a positive change – we can all make a positive change. And this is where Veganism comes in. I’ve been a Vegetarian for many years, but recently I pledged a month of my life to go Vegan. I admit, I was terrified. I love my cheese, my eggs, my cakes! I thought Vegans couldn’t eat anything, but that was more wrong that I could have every imagined. It’s less about what you can’t eat, and more about what you CAN. Suddenly, my diet became focused around the wonderful world of fresh fruit, vegetables, pulses, seeds and so many other delicious things I found myself trying for the first time ever.

My Vegan experiment left me feeling the healthiest I have ever felt in my life, and now, Veganism has it’s relevance to the issue of world thirst and hunger. Take the plunge and pledge a month to eating Vegan. I know you won’t regret it.

‘The World is Thirsty, Because We are Hungry’

Please check out http://www.unwater.org/worldwaterday/ for more information.

twitter.com/goodfoodmarsh ~

Leave a Reply

